NEWS

 
15.03.2017
Christuskirche Eimsbüttel – Restaurierung Westportal abgeschlossen
Die Stiftung Denkmalpflege Hamburg förderte die Restaurierung des Westportals einschließlich der Portal- und Nebenfenster mit einer Zuwendung.
08.03.2017
15. April ist Anmeldefrist für den Tag des offenen Denkmals 2017 in Hamburg
 

Online Spenden

Spendenkonto
HSH Nordbank
  
IBAN: DE06 2105 0000 0317 8671 00
   
BIC: HSHNDEHH

 
 

BERGEDORF MILL

Chrysanderstr. 52, Hamburg-Bergedorf

The Bergedorf Mill was built in 1831 as a tannery mill by the tanner Heinrich Martin Biel. The milled oak bark was transported by boat down the Bille River to the tannery. This explains the mill’s location, which is not ideal in terms of wind exposure. In 1880, it was converted into a grain windmill with three milling stages. In subsequent decades, the mill was repeatedly adapted to new technological innovations. Thus, along with wind power, it has a diesel motor installed in 1926 and an electric motor from 1943. All three power sources can be utilized simultaneously. This special feature, which was not altered after it was taken out of operation, makes the mill a unique technological monument. The Bergedorf Mill was placed under monument protection in 1942. The mill was in operation until 1967.

The Hamburg Monument Foundation acquired the Bergedorf Mill in 2003, and placed it at the disposal of the Bergedorf Mill Association (Verein Bergedorfer Mühle e. V.), which has taken care of the mill since 1995. The Association has extensively restored the mill, provided it with new vanes, and is preserving it as a living technological architectural monument.

 
 
© 2017 Stiftung Denkmalpflege Hamburg, Dragonerstall 13, 20355 Hamburg